Mahatma Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Dental Sciences (MGPGIDS), Puducherry, has released its official seat matrix and fee structure for the BDS course in the 2026-27 academic year. The college offers 125 total BDS seats across three quota categories: 19 All India Quota (AIQ) seats, 51 state quota seats for Puducherry domiciles, 50 self-financing seats, and 5 NRI seats. This notice is critical for all NEET UG 2026 candidates who have applied for BDS admission in Puducherry — it tells you exactly how many seats are available in each category, what you will pay if admitted, and the rules around refunds and hostel charges.
MGPGIDS Puducherry offers 125 BDS seats for 2026-27: 19 AIQ, 51 state quota, 50 self-financing, and 5 NRI; fees range from ₹1,01,250 (Puducherry domiciles) to ₹1,31,250 (AIQ) per year, plus hostel charges of ₹7,550 if you stay on campus.
What is MGPGIDS and why does this notice matter?
MGPGIDS (Mahatma Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Dental Sciences) is a government dental college in Puducherry. Despite its name, it offers both undergraduate (BDS) and postgraduate courses. This notice covers only the BDS (Bachelor of Dental Surgery) course for the 2026-27 academic year.
This notice matters because it officially declares how many BDS seats the college will fill, how they are divided between different admission routes (AIQ, state quota, self-financing, NRI), and the exact fees you must pay if you are admitted. Without this information, you cannot plan your counselling strategy or budget for your education. The notice also clarifies refund and hostel policies, which protect your interests if circumstances change after admission.
Total BDS seats available: 125
MGPGIDS Puducherry will admit a total of 125 BDS students in 2026-27. These seats are divided into four categories based on how they are filled: All India Quota (AIQ), state quota, self-financing, and NRI. Understanding this breakdown is essential because your eligibility and the counselling process depend on which quota you fall into.
The seat distribution is as follows: 19 seats are AIQ (filled through national-level NEET counselling), 51 seats are state quota (reserved for Puducherry domiciles and filled through state counselling), 50 seats are self-financing (filled by the college directly, usually at a higher fee), and 5 seats are NRI (for Non-Resident Indians and foreign nationals). If any NRI seat remains unfilled after the admission process, it will be converted to self-financing or management quota, increasing the number of self-financing seats available.
- 19 All India Quota (AIQ) seats — filled through national NEET counselling
- 51 State Quota seats — for Puducherry domiciles, filled through state counselling
- 50 Self-Financing seats — filled by the college, higher fees apply
- 5 NRI seats — for Non-Resident Indians and foreign nationals; unfilled NRI seats convert to self-financing
| Quota Type | Number of Seats |
|---|---|
| All India Quota (AIQ) | 19 |
| State Quota (Puducherry Domiciles) | 51 |
| Self-Financing | 50 |
| NRI | 5 |
| Total | 125 |
BDS fees for AIQ and Puducherry domiciles: ₹1,31,250 vs ₹1,01,250 per year
The college charges different fees depending on whether you are admitted through AIQ or as a Puducherry domicile through state quota. AIQ candidates pay ₹1,31,250 per year, while Puducherry domiciles pay ₹1,01,250 per year. The difference is ₹30,000 per year, primarily in the admission fee (₹80,000 for AIQ vs ₹50,000 for domiciles). These are the fees for the first year; the same structure applies to subsequent years of the 5-year BDS course.
The fee includes tuition, library, laboratory, identity card, student council, sports, alumni contributions, and a welfare fund. Some fees — marked with an asterisk (*) — are paid only at the time of admission and are non-recurring. These include the admission fee (₹80,000 or ₹50,000), identity card (₹190), caution deposit (₹3,000), and alumni fee (₹300). The remaining fees are paid annually. A caution deposit of ₹3,000 is refundable when you leave the college, subject to any deductions for damage or outstanding dues.
- AIQ candidates: ₹1,31,250 per year
- Puducherry domiciles: ₹1,01,250 per year
- Admission fee (one-time): ₹80,000 (AIQ) or ₹50,000 (domiciles)
- Annual recurring fees: tuition (₹21,240), special fee (₹9,430), library (₹5,900), laboratory (₹9,920), student council (₹700), sports (₹220), poor students welfare fund (₹350)
| Fee Component | AIQ Candidates (₹) | Puducherry Domiciles (₹) |
|---|---|---|
| Admission Fee* | 80,000.00 | 50,000.00 |
| Tuition Fee | 21,240.00 | 21,240.00 |
| Special Fee | 9,430.00 | 9,430.00 |
| Library Fee | 5,900.00 | 5,900.00 |
| Identity Card* | 190.00 | 190.00 |
| Students Council Fee | 700.00 | 700.00 |
| Laboratory Fee | 9,920.00 | 9,920.00 |
| Caution Deposit* | 3,000.00 | 3,000.00 |
| Sports Fee | 220.00 | 220.00 |
| Alumni Fee* | 300.00 | 300.00 |
| Poor Students Welfare Fund* | 350.00 | 350.00 |
| Total per Year | 1,31,250.00 | 1,01,250.00 |
NRI and foreign student fees: US $22,000 admission + ₹2,59,390 tuition per year
If you are an NRI (Non-Resident Indian), NRI-sponsored, OCI (Overseas Citizen of India), or foreign national, you pay a different fee structure. The admission fee is US $22,000 (paid only in US dollars) and must be paid at the time of admission. The tuition fee is ₹2,59,390 per year, paid in Indian rupees. NRI candidates have a flexible payment option for the admission fee: they can pay it as a lump sum or in four equal installments spread over the four years of the course. However, the tuition fee must be paid in full every year.
This fee structure is significantly higher than for AIQ and domicile candidates, reflecting the international nature of NRI admissions. The admission fee in US dollars protects the college from currency fluctuation risk. If you are an NRI candidate, confirm the current exchange rate and budget accordingly. The college will provide payment instructions and bank details at the time of admission.
- Admission fee: US $22,000 (paid only in US dollars, at admission)
- Tuition fee: ₹2,59,390 per year (paid in Indian rupees)
- Admission fee payment options: lump sum or four equal installments over four years
- Tuition fee: must be paid in full every year, no installment option
| Fee Component | Amount |
|---|---|
| Admission Fee* (one-time) | US $22,000 |
| Tuition Fee (per year) | ₹2,59,390 |
Self-financing seats: ₹3,50,000 tuition per year
If you are admitted to a self-financing seat, the tuition fee is ₹3,50,000 per year. This is significantly higher than the tuition for AIQ and domicile candidates (₹21,240 per year). Self-financing seats are filled directly by the college and are not part of the national or state counselling process. The college has discretion in admitting candidates to these seats, often based on merit or other criteria set by the institution.
The notice does not specify other fees (admission, library, laboratory, etc.) for self-financing candidates, so it is unclear whether they pay the same miscellaneous fees as AIQ/domicile candidates or only the tuition. Contact the college directly to clarify the complete fee structure for self-financing seats before committing to admission.
- Tuition fee for self-financing seats: ₹3,50,000 per year
- Self-financing seats are filled directly by the college, not through national or state counselling
- Other fee components (admission, library, laboratory, etc.) for self-financing candidates are not specified in this notice — contact the college for clarification
Hostel fees: ₹7,550 per year if you stay on campus
If you choose to stay in the college hostel, you must pay additional hostel fees. The total hostel fee is ₹7,550 per year, which includes room rental (₹2,500 for a double room), electricity and water charges (₹300), establishment charges (₹2,400), hostel admission fee (₹250), and a students welfare fund (₹100). Some of these fees — the hostel admission fee (₹250) and hostel caution deposit (₹2,000) — are paid only at the time of hostel admission and are not recurring.
The hostel caution deposit of ₹2,000 is refundable when you leave the hostel, but the college will deduct standard charges for any damage or outstanding dues before refunding the balance. If you do not stay in the hostel, you do not pay these fees. Hostel accommodation is optional; many students arrange private accommodation near the college.
- Total hostel fee per year: ₹7,550
- Room rental (double room): ₹2,500
- Electricity & water charges: ₹300
- Establishment charges: ₹2,400
- Hostel admission fee* (one-time): ₹250
- Hostel caution deposit* (one-time, refundable): ₹2,000
- Students welfare fund: ₹100
- Hostel is optional; private accommodation is an alternative
| Hostel Fee Component | Amount (₹) |
|---|---|
| Hostel Admission Fee* | 250.00 |
| Electricity & Water Charges | 300.00 |
| Room Rental (Double Room) | 2,500.00 |
| Hostel Caution Deposit* | 2,000.00 |
| Establishment Charges | 2,400.00 |
| Students Welfare Fund | 100.00 |
| Total per Year | 7,550.00 |
Fee refund policy: 10% deduction if you leave before the closing date
If you are admitted but later decide to leave the college or are transferred to another college before the closing date of admission (as prescribed by the Dental Council of India or by court order), the fees you have paid will be refunded. However, the college will deduct 10% of the total fees you deposited before refunding the balance. For example, if you paid ₹1,31,250 and leave before the closing date, you will receive ₹1,31,250 minus 10% (₹13,125) = ₹1,18,125.
This 10% deduction is a standard administrative charge and applies to all candidates — AIQ, domiciles, self-financing, and NRI. However, there is a critical exception: if you are an NRI, NRI-sponsored, OCI, or self-financing candidate and you discontinue the course at any time after the closing date of admission, no refund will be given under any circumstances. You will only receive your certificates after paying the tuition fees for the remaining part of the course. This is a strict rule, so understand the commitment before accepting admission to a self-financing or NRI seat.
- Refund if you leave before the closing date of admission: total fees minus 10% deduction
- Example: ₹1,31,250 paid → refund = ₹1,31,250 − 10% = ₹1,18,125
- ⚠️ TRAP: If you are an NRI, NRI-sponsored, OCI, or self-financing candidate and leave after the closing date, NO refund is given — you must pay tuition for the remaining course to get your certificates
- Closing date of admission is set by the Dental Council of India or by court order — the college will notify you of this date
Caution deposits: what they are and when they are refunded
The college charges two caution deposits: an academic caution deposit of ₹3,000 (part of the main fee structure) and a hostel caution deposit of ₹2,000 (if you stay in the hostel). These are not fees you lose; they are deposits held by the college as security against damage to college property, outstanding dues, or other liabilities. When you leave the college or hostel, these deposits are refunded, minus any deductions for damage or unpaid fees.
For the academic caution deposit (₹3,000), the refund terms are not explicitly detailed in this notice, but standard practice is that it is refunded when you complete the course or leave the college, subject to deductions. For the hostel caution deposit (₹2,000), the notice explicitly states that only the balance after 'standard deduction' is refunded when you leave the hostel. 'Standard deduction' typically covers damage to hostel property, unpaid utilities, or other hostel-related liabilities. Keep your hostel room in good condition and settle all dues promptly to maximize your refund.
- Academic caution deposit: ₹3,000 (paid at admission, refundable when you leave)
- Hostel caution deposit: ₹2,000 (paid at hostel admission, refundable when you leave hostel)
- Refund is subject to deductions for damage, unpaid fees, or other liabilities
- Keep college and hostel property in good condition to avoid deductions
Important: NRI and self-financing candidates — no refund after closing date
This is a critical rule that deserves special emphasis. If you are admitted as an NRI, NRI-sponsored, OCI, or self-financing candidate, and you discontinue the course at any time after the closing date of admission (as prescribed by the Dental Council of India or by court order), the college will NOT refund any fees you have paid. This is a strict, no-exception policy.
Instead, if you leave after the closing date, you will only receive your certificates (degree, transcripts, etc.) after you pay the tuition fees for the remaining part of the course. For example, if you are in the second year of a 5-year course and decide to leave, you must pay the tuition fees for years 3, 4, and 5 before the college will issue your certificates. This rule is designed to ensure that students complete the course or bear the full financial cost. Before accepting admission to a self-financing or NRI seat, be absolutely certain you can commit to the full 5-year course.
- ⚠️ NRI, NRI-sponsored, OCI, and self-financing candidates: NO REFUND if you leave after the closing date of admission
- ⚠️ You must pay tuition for the remaining years of the course to receive your certificates
- ⚠️ This rule applies even if you have a valid reason (medical, financial hardship, etc.) — there are no exceptions
- ✅ Understand this commitment fully before accepting admission to a self-financing or NRI seat
How to calculate your total first-year cost
To plan your budget, add up all the fees you will pay in the first year. Start with the main course fees (₹1,31,250 for AIQ, ₹1,01,250 for domiciles, ₹3,50,000 for self-financing, or US $22,000 + ₹2,59,390 for NRI). If you plan to stay in the hostel, add ₹7,550. If you are an NRI candidate paying the admission fee in installments, you will pay one-quarter of US $22,000 in year 1 and the full tuition fee of ₹2,59,390.
Example for an AIQ candidate staying in the hostel: ₹1,31,250 (course fees) + ₹7,550 (hostel fees) = ₹1,38,800 in the first year. For a Puducherry domicile not staying in the hostel: ₹1,01,250 (course fees only). For an NRI candidate paying admission in installments: (US $22,000 ÷ 4) + ₹2,59,390 (tuition) + hostel fees if applicable. Convert the US dollar amount to Indian rupees using the current exchange rate. Remember that these are first-year costs; subsequent years will have similar recurring fees but no one-time admission fees.
- AIQ + hostel: ₹1,31,250 + ₹7,550 = ₹1,38,800
- Puducherry domicile + hostel: ₹1,01,250 + ₹7,550 = ₹1,08,800
- Self-financing + hostel: ₹3,50,000 + ₹7,550 = ₹3,57,550
- NRI (admission in installments) + hostel: (US $22,000 ÷ 4) + ₹2,59,390 + ₹7,550
- Subsequent years: same recurring fees, no one-time admission fees
What this notice does NOT tell you — contact the college for clarification
This notice provides the official seat matrix and fee structure, but it does not answer all questions you may have. For example, it does not specify: (1) the exact closing date of admission (you need to know this to understand the refund policy); (2) whether self-financing candidates pay the same miscellaneous fees as AIQ/domicile candidates or only tuition; (3) the payment schedule and bank details for fees; (4) whether hostel accommodation is guaranteed or on a first-come, first-served basis; (5) the criteria for admission to self-financing seats; (6) the exact exchange rate used to convert US dollars to rupees for NRI fees.
Before you commit to admission, contact MGPGIDS directly to clarify these points. The college's contact details are: Phone: 0413-2276001, 2276008; Email: dean@mgpgids.in; Website: https://mgpgids.gov.in. You can also contact CENTAC (the Puducherry counselling authority) for information about the counselling process and seat allocation.
- Contact MGPGIDS for: closing date of admission, self-financing fee details, payment schedule, hostel availability, self-financing admission criteria, exchange rate for NRI fees
- MGPGIDS contact: Phone 0413-2276001, 2276008; Email dean@mgpgids.in; Website https://mgpgids.gov.in
- Contact CENTAC for: counselling process, seat allocation, AIQ and state quota details
2 minute · Free preview
Which MBBS colleges can your NEET rank actually get?
See the real colleges your rank can reach — every state and All India Quota — with official closing ranks and the exact fee for each seat.
See My CollegesFrequently asked questions
How many BDS seats does MGPGIDS Puducherry have in 2026-27?
MGPGIDS Puducherry has a total of 125 BDS seats for 2026-27, divided as follows: 19 All India Quota (AIQ) seats, 51 state quota seats (for Puducherry domiciles), 50 self-financing seats, and 5 NRI seats. If any NRI seat remains unfilled, it will be converted to self-financing or management quota.
What is the fee for AIQ candidates in the BDS course?
AIQ candidates pay ₹1,31,250 per year for the BDS course. This includes an admission fee of ₹80,000 (paid only at admission), tuition fee of ₹21,240, and various other fees (library, laboratory, special fee, etc.). The same fee structure applies to all five years of the course.
What is the fee for Puducherry domicile candidates?
Puducherry domicile candidates pay ₹1,01,250 per year for the BDS course. The main difference from AIQ candidates is the admission fee, which is ₹50,000 for domiciles (compared to ₹80,000 for AIQ). All other fees are the same.
What do NRI candidates pay for the BDS course?
NRI candidates pay an admission fee of US $22,000 (paid only in US dollars at admission) and a tuition fee of ₹2,59,390 per year. The admission fee can be paid as a lump sum or in four equal installments over the four years of the course. The tuition fee must be paid in full every year.
What is the fee for self-financing seats?
Self-financing candidates pay ₹3,50,000 per year as tuition fee. The notice does not specify whether they pay additional miscellaneous fees (library, laboratory, etc.) like AIQ and domicile candidates. Contact the college directly to clarify the complete fee structure for self-financing seats.
What happens if I leave the college before the closing date of admission?
If you leave before the closing date of admission, the fees you paid will be refunded, but the college will deduct 10% of the total fees as an administrative charge. For example, if you paid ₹1,31,250, you will receive ₹1,31,250 minus 10% (₹13,125) = ₹1,18,125. However, if you are an NRI, NRI-sponsored, OCI, or self-financing candidate and leave after the closing date, no refund is given.
What is the closing date of admission, and why does it matter?
The closing date of admission is set by the Dental Council of India or by court order, and the college will notify you of this date. It matters because the refund policy changes after this date: if you leave before the closing date, you get a 90% refund; if you leave after the closing date and you are an NRI or self-financing candidate, you get no refund and must pay tuition for the remaining years to get your certificates.
Do I have to stay in the hostel, and what are the hostel fees?
Hostel accommodation is optional. If you choose to stay in the hostel, you pay ₹7,550 per year, which includes room rental (₹2,500), electricity and water (₹300), establishment charges (₹2,400), and other fees. A hostel caution deposit of ₹2,000 is refundable when you leave, subject to deductions for damage or unpaid dues.
What is a caution deposit, and will I get it back?
A caution deposit is money held by the college as security against damage to property or unpaid fees. MGPGIDS charges an academic caution deposit of ₹3,000 and a hostel caution deposit of ₹2,000 (if you stay in the hostel). Both are refundable when you leave the college or hostel, minus any deductions for damage or outstanding dues.
What is the most important rule I need to know about fees?
The most important rule is: if you are an NRI, NRI-sponsored, OCI, or self-financing candidate and you discontinue the course after the closing date of admission, NO REFUND is given. You must pay the tuition fees for the remaining years of the course to receive your certificates. This is a strict, no-exception policy, so be absolutely certain you can commit to the full 5-year course before accepting admission to these seats.
How do I calculate my total first-year cost?
Add the course fees (₹1,31,250 for AIQ, ₹1,01,250 for domiciles, ₹3,50,000 for self-financing, or US $22,000 + ₹2,59,390 for NRI) plus hostel fees if applicable (₹7,550). Example: AIQ candidate with hostel = ₹1,31,250 + ₹7,550 = ₹1,38,800. For NRI candidates paying admission in installments, divide the US $22,000 by 4 and add one-quarter to the first year's cost.
Where can I get more information about MGPGIDS and the admission process?
Contact MGPGIDS directly: Phone 0413-2276001 or 2276008; Email dean@mgpgids.in; Website https://mgpgids.gov.in. For information about the counselling process and seat allocation, contact CENTAC (Centralised Admission Committee), Puducherry. The college will clarify details not covered in this notice, such as the exact closing date, self-financing admission criteria, and payment procedures.
This notice is the official fee and seat matrix for MGPGIDS Puducherry BDS 2026-27. If you are eligible for AIQ or state quota seats, you will be counselled through the national or state counselling process — watch for counselling dates and instructions from CENTAC or the national counselling authority. If you are interested in self-financing or NRI seats, contact the college directly for application procedures. Before accepting any admission offer, carefully review the refund policy, especially the strict no-refund rule for NRI and self-financing candidates after the closing date. Confirm all fee details and payment procedures with the college to avoid surprises.
Plan your admission with free AI tools
Turn your NEET score into a rank, then into the exact colleges you can get.