Baba Farid University of Health Sciences (BFUHS), Faridkot, has published the official fee structure for MD/MS and PG Diploma admissions at Adesh Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, Bathinda, for the 2026–27 academic session. The fees follow a Punjab government corrigendum issued in June 2025. However, a critical development: Adesh University has filed a court case (CWP No. 34796 of 2026) challenging the fee structure, and the Punjab and Haryana High Court has issued an interim order on 16 October 2026 directing that all fee deposits remain subject to the outcome of an earlier related case (CWP-7941-2020). This means students admitted to Adesh may be required to pay these fees now, but the final amount could change depending on the court's decision.
MD/MS clinical courses at Adesh cost ₹6.85 lakh per year, basic sciences ₹2.75 lakh per year, and PG Diploma ₹4.10 lakh per year—but all fee payments are currently under court stay and may be refunded or adjusted if the court rules in the university's favour.
Your matched MD/MS/DNB seats
LockedEnter your NEET-PG rank to unlock the real colleges you can get — All India Quota and state — with closing ranks, fees and stipend.
Unlock My College ListWhat This Notice Is About
This is an official notification from BFUHS, Faridkot (the affiliating university for Adesh Institute) announcing the prescribed fee structure for postgraduate medical courses at Adesh Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, Bathinda, a private medical institution in Punjab. The fees are set by the Punjab Government's Department of Medical Education and Research and apply to all admissions from the 2025–26 academic session onwards.
The notice also carries a critical legal alert: Adesh University has challenged these fees in the Punjab and Haryana High Court, and the court has issued an interim order placing all fee deposits under a stay. This means that while students may be asked to pay these fees during admission and counselling, the payment is conditional—if the court rules in Adesh's favour, the fees may be reduced or refunded.
Official Fee Structure for MD/MS and PG Diploma
The Punjab Government has prescribed the following annual fees for MD/MS and PG Diploma courses at private health sciences institutions and universities in Punjab, effective from the 2025–26 session onwards. These fees apply to Indian (domestic) candidates. The table below shows the exact fees per year and the NRI (Non-Resident Indian) fees for the full course duration.
| Course | Annual Fee (₹) | NRI Fee for Full Course (US$) |
|---|---|---|
| MD/MS (Clinical) | 6,85,000 | 1,25,000 |
| MD/MS (Basic Sciences) | 2,75,000 | 20,000 |
| PG Diploma | 4,10,000 | 30,000 |
Understanding the Fee Breakdown
**MD/MS (Clinical)** — ₹6.85 lakh per year. This covers clinical specialities such as Medicine, Surgery, Paediatrics, Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Psychiatry, Anaesthesia, Radiology, and similar disciplines. For a 3-year course, the total would be approximately ₹20.55 lakh (excluding any additional charges or hostel fees). NRI candidates pay a flat US$1,25,000 for the entire course.
**MD/MS (Basic Sciences)** — ₹2.75 lakh per year. This covers non-clinical specialities such as Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry, Pharmacology, Pathology, Microbiology, and Forensic Medicine. For a 3-year course, the total would be approximately ₹8.25 lakh. NRI candidates pay US$20,000 for the full course.
**PG Diploma** — ₹4.10 lakh per year. This is for 2-year postgraduate diploma courses in various medical specialities. For a 2-year course, the total would be approximately ₹8.20 lakh. NRI candidates pay US$30,000 for the full course.
These are the **prescribed fees only**—the actual fees charged by Adesh Institute may not exceed these amounts, but the institution may charge less. Always confirm the exact fee with the college at the time of admission.
⚠️ CRITICAL: Court Stay on Fee Deposits — What You Must Know
**The court order (dated 16 October 2026):** Adesh University has filed a court case (CWP No. 34796 of 2026) challenging the fee structure. The Punjab and Haryana High Court has issued an interim order directing that: (1) the case will be heard together with an earlier case (CWP-7941-2020), and (2) **all fee deposits made by students shall remain subject to the outcome of CWP-7941-2020**. This is a conditional stay—not a complete ban on fee collection, but a warning that fees may be refunded or adjusted.
**What this means for you:** If you are admitted to Adesh Institute and asked to pay fees during counselling or joining, you must pay—but you should do so with the understanding that the final amount you keep may change. The college is required to inform all admitted students that their fee deposit is conditional on the court's decision. If the court rules that fees should be lower, you will receive a refund. If the court upholds the current fees, you keep the deposit as is.
Know the exact MD/MS/DNB seats your rank can get
Official round-wise closing ranks with fee and stipend, matched to your rank.
**Do not skip fee payment thinking the court will cancel it.** The interim order does not prevent fee collection; it only makes it conditional. Failure to pay may result in loss of your seat. However, **keep all fee receipts and documentation**—you will need them if a refund is issued later.
- Fee deposits are currently under interim court stay (CWP-7941-2020).
- You must pay fees if admitted, but the amount may be adjusted based on the court's final order.
- The college must inform you in writing that your fee deposit is conditional.
- Keep all receipts and payment proof for potential refunds.
Who Is Eligible to Pay These Fees?
These fees apply to all candidates admitted to MD/MS or PG Diploma courses at Adesh Institute through NEET-PG 2026 counselling, regardless of whether they are from Punjab or another state. The fees are the same for all Indian candidates (domestic seats). NRI candidates pay in US dollars as per the table above.
The fees are prescribed by the Punjab Government and are binding on all private medical institutions in Punjab. Adesh Institute cannot charge more than these amounts, though it may charge less if it chooses to do so.
NRI Fees and Payment in Foreign Currency
If you are an NRI candidate (a Non-Resident Indian, Overseas Citizen of India, or foreign national), you will pay fees in US dollars as shown in the table. The NRI fee is a flat amount for the entire course duration, not per year. For example, an NRI candidate in MD/MS (Clinical) pays US$1,25,000 for the full 3-year course, not per year.
The exact rupee equivalent will depend on the exchange rate at the time of payment. Confirm the rupee amount with Adesh Institute before making payment. NRI fees are typically paid via bank transfer or demand draft in the college's designated foreign currency account.
When and How to Pay Fees
Fees are payable at the time of admission and joining, as per the counselling schedule and the college's admission guidelines. The exact payment dates and methods will be communicated by Adesh Institute and the NEET-PG counselling authority (BFUHS or the state CET Cell) during the counselling process.
Payment is typically made via online transfer, demand draft, or cheque to the college's designated account. Do not pay fees in cash or to any individual. Always obtain an official receipt from the college with your name, roll number, course, and amount paid clearly stated.
**Important:** Before paying, ensure you have received a formal admission letter from Adesh Institute and confirmation of your seat allotment from the counselling authority. Do not pay based on verbal assurance or unofficial communication.
- Pay fees only after receiving an official admission letter from Adesh Institute.
- Confirm the exact payment method and account details with the college.
- Obtain an official receipt for every payment.
- Do not pay in cash or to individuals.
- Keep all payment proof and receipts for records and potential refunds.
What Fees Include and Exclude
The prescribed fees cover tuition, course materials, and institutional charges for the MD/MS or PG Diploma programme. However, the notice does not specify what is included or excluded. Typically, fees do NOT include hostel charges, mess fees, examination fees, or other miscellaneous charges, which may be charged separately.
Before joining, request a detailed fee breakdown from Adesh Institute showing exactly what is included in the prescribed fee and what additional charges (if any) you may incur. This will help you budget accurately and avoid surprises.
Every kind of PG seat, one rank
See the real seats your NEET-PG rank can reach.
The Court Case: Background and What Happens Next
Adesh University has filed Civil Writ Petition (CWP) No. 34796 of 2026 in the Punjab and Haryana High Court, challenging the fee structure prescribed by the Punjab Government. The court has issued an interim order on 16 October 2026 directing that the case be heard together with an earlier petition (CWP-7941-2020), which also appears to relate to fee disputes in medical education.
The interim order states that all fee deposits made by students shall remain subject to the outcome of CWP-7941-2020. This means the court has not yet decided the case on its merits; it has only placed a conditional hold on fees. The final hearing and judgment could take weeks or months.
**What you should do:** Do not assume the court will cancel or reduce fees. Pay the prescribed fees if admitted, but keep all documentation. If the court later rules in Adesh's favour and orders a fee reduction or refund, the college will be required to comply. Monitor news and official college communications for updates on the court case.
- Adesh University is challenging the fee structure in court (CWP No. 34796 of 2026).
- The court has issued an interim order placing fees under conditional stay.
- The final judgment is pending and could take time.
- Pay fees as prescribed, but keep all receipts for potential refunds.
Adesh Institute: Which Courses Are Covered?
This notice applies specifically to Adesh Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, Bathinda, a private medical institution affiliated with Adesh University. The fees cover MD/MS courses (both clinical and basic sciences) and PG Diploma courses offered by Adesh Institute.
If you are considering other private medical colleges in Punjab, check their individual fee notifications—fees may vary by institution, though they cannot exceed the prescribed maxima set by the Punjab Government.
Important Dates and Deadlines
This notice was issued on **28 October 2026**. The court's interim order is dated **16 October 2026**. The fee structure itself was notified by the Punjab Government on **13 June 2025** and applies from the 2025–26 academic session onwards.
There are no specific application or payment deadlines mentioned in this notice. Deadlines will be communicated by the NEET-PG counselling authority and Adesh Institute during the counselling process. Watch for official announcements from BFUHS and the state CET Cell.
Common Mistakes to Avoid
**Mistake 1: Assuming the court will cancel fees.** The interim order does not cancel fees; it only makes them conditional. You must pay if admitted, or you will lose your seat.
**Mistake 2: Paying fees without an official receipt.** Always obtain a formal receipt from the college with your name, course, and amount clearly stated. Do not accept verbal confirmation.
**Mistake 3: Confusing annual and total fees.** The fees shown (₹6.85 lakh, ₹2.75 lakh, ₹4.10 lakh) are **per year**, not for the entire course. Multiply by the course duration (3 years for MD/MS, 2 years for PG Diploma) to get the total.
**Mistake 4: Not confirming what is included in the fee.** The notice does not specify whether hostel, mess, or examination fees are included. Ask the college for a detailed breakdown before paying.
**Mistake 5: Paying before receiving an official admission letter.** Do not pay based on counselling allotment alone. Wait for a formal admission letter from Adesh Institute.
See the exact MD/MS/DNB seats your NEET-PG rank can get
Free 2-minute preview — round-wise closing ranks, fees and stipend for every seat your rank can reach.
See My CollegesFrequently asked questions
What is the fee for MD/MS (Clinical) at Adesh Institute for 2026–27?
The prescribed annual fee is ₹6,85,000 per year. For a 3-year course, the total would be approximately ₹20,55,000. NRI candidates pay a flat US$1,25,000 for the entire course. However, all fees are currently under interim court stay and may be adjusted based on the court's final order.
What is the fee for MD/MS (Basic Sciences) and PG Diploma?
MD/MS (Basic Sciences) costs ₹2,75,000 per year (approximately ₹8,25,000 for 3 years). PG Diploma costs ₹4,10,000 per year (approximately ₹8,20,000 for 2 years). NRI fees are US$20,000 for MD/MS (Basic Sciences) and US$30,000 for PG Diploma for the full course.
Why is there a court stay on fee deposits?
Adesh University has filed a court case (CWP No. 34796 of 2026) challenging the fee structure. The Punjab and Haryana High Court has issued an interim order on 16 October 2026 directing that all fee deposits remain subject to the outcome of an earlier related case (CWP-7941-2020). This means fees may be refunded or adjusted if the court rules in Adesh's favour.
Do I have to pay fees if the court has placed them under stay?
Yes, you must pay fees if admitted to Adesh Institute. The interim order does not prevent fee collection; it only makes it conditional. If you do not pay, you will lose your seat. However, keep all receipts—if the court later orders a refund or reduction, you will be eligible for it.
Will I get a refund if the court rules in Adesh's favour?
The notice does not specify the exact outcome of the court case or whether refunds will be issued. However, the interim order states that fees are subject to the outcome of CWP-7941-2020. If the court rules that fees should be lower, Adesh Institute will be required to refund the difference. Keep all payment receipts and documentation.
Are these fees the same for all private medical colleges in Punjab?
These are the **prescribed maximum fees** set by the Punjab Government for private health sciences institutions in Punjab. All private colleges must follow these limits, but they may charge less if they choose. Confirm the exact fees with your specific college.
What is included in the prescribed fee?
The notice does not specify what is included in the fee. Typically, fees cover tuition and course materials, but hostel, mess, examination, and other miscellaneous charges may be separate. Request a detailed fee breakdown from Adesh Institute before paying.
When do I have to pay the fees?
Fees are payable at the time of admission and joining, as per the counselling schedule and the college's admission guidelines. The exact payment dates will be communicated by Adesh Institute and the NEET-PG counselling authority during the counselling process.
How do I pay the fees? Can I pay in cash?
Do not pay in cash or to individuals. Payment is typically made via online transfer, demand draft, or cheque to the college's designated account. Confirm the exact payment method and account details with Adesh Institute. Always obtain an official receipt.
What if I am an NRI candidate? How do I pay in US dollars?
NRI candidates pay fees in US dollars as shown in the table (US$1,25,000 for MD/MS Clinical, US$20,000 for MD/MS Basic Sciences, US$30,000 for PG Diploma). Payment is typically made via bank transfer to the college's foreign currency account. Confirm the rupee equivalent and payment method with Adesh Institute.
Is this fee structure applicable to all NEET-PG 2026 admissions at Adesh Institute?
Yes, this fee structure applies to all MD/MS and PG Diploma admissions at Adesh Institute through NEET-PG 2026 counselling, for both domestic and NRI candidates. The fees are the same regardless of the candidate's state of origin.
What should I do if I have already paid fees and the court later orders a refund?
Keep all payment receipts and documentation. If the court orders a refund or fee reduction, Adesh Institute will be required to comply. Contact the college's admission office with your receipts to claim the refund. The college should process it within a reasonable time.
If you are admitted to Adesh Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, Bathinda, through NEET-PG 2026 counselling, you will be required to pay the prescribed fees shown in this notice. However, understand that all fee deposits are currently under interim court stay and may be adjusted based on the court's final order in CWP-7941-2020. Pay fees only after receiving an official admission letter from the college, and always obtain a formal receipt. Keep all documentation for potential refunds. For the latest updates on the court case and exact payment dates, monitor official communications from Adesh Institute and the NEET-PG counselling authority.
Plan your admission with free AI tools
Turn your NEET score into a rank, then into the exact colleges you can get.