Counselling

Odisha NEET UG 2026: 3rd Round Counselling Schedule & Dates

Odisha OJEE releases 3rd round counselling schedule for MBBS/BDS state quota seats. Registration opens 28 Sept, merit list 1 Oct, choice filling 1–4 Oct, allotment 8 Oct, admission 11–15 Oct. Check all dates and reporting requirements.

MedAdmit News Desk 24 Sep 2026 8 min read

The Odisha Joint Entrance Examination (OJEE) Board has released the official schedule for the 3rd round of counselling for MBBS and BDS admissions under Odisha's state quota seats. This notice, issued on 21 September 2026, sets out all key dates from registration through final admission reporting. The schedule has been revised following changes to the All India Quota counselling timeline. If you have qualified for Odisha state quota seats and are waiting to secure your college and course, this schedule tells you exactly when to register, fill choices, and report for admission.

Register for the 3rd round merit list between 28–29 September; fill your course and college choices between 1–4 October; report for admission with original documents and fees between 11–15 October.

OJEE — MBBS/BDS Counselling: 3rd Round Counselling Activities for Admission to MBBS/BDS Course Under State Quota SeatsOfficial PDF notice published by OJEE. Always confirm details against the official document.

What is the 3rd Round Counselling?

The 3rd round is the second round of seat allocation in Odisha's state quota counselling process for MBBS and BDS courses. It follows the earlier rounds and is designed to fill remaining seats after candidates have accepted or rejected offers from previous rounds. This round uses a revised merit list prepared from fresh registrations and includes candidates who did not get seats in earlier rounds or who are applying for the first time in this round.

The notice clarifies that this schedule has been revised because the All India Quota (AIQ) counselling timeline was modified by the Medical Counselling Committee (MCC). Odisha has adjusted its state quota schedule to align with the national timeline, so candidates applying for both AIQ and state quota seats are not caught between conflicting deadlines.

Important Dates: Complete Timeline

Below is the full schedule for the 3rd round. Every date and time is fixed; missing a deadline means you cannot participate in that step. Mark these dates in your calendar and set phone reminders for the day before each deadline.

ActivityDate & Time
Registration for State Merit List Preparation28 September 2026, 11:30 AM to 29 September 2026, 11:59 PM
Publication of Provisional Revised State Merit List30 September 2026, 2:00 PM
Query invitation for Provisional Merit List1 October 2026, 11:30 AM
Publication of 3rd Round State Merit List (Final)1 October 2026, 5:30 PM
Choice Filling and Locking1 October 2026, 7:30 PM to 4 October 2026, 11:59 PM
2nd Round Provisional Allotment6 October 2026, 11:30 AM
Query invitation for Provisional Allotment7 October 2026, 11:30 AM
Publication of 2nd Round Allotment & Allotment Letter Download8 September 2026, 11:30 AM
Withdrawal or Resignation from CounsellingTill 7 September 2026, 9:00 AM
Provisional Admission (Reporting with Fees & Documents)11 October 2026 to 15 October 2026
3rd Round Counselling Schedule – Odisha NEET UG 2026

Who Must Register for the 3rd Round?

You must register for the 3rd round if you are a NEET UG 2026 candidate eligible for Odisha state quota seats and you have not yet been allotted a seat, or if you were allotted a seat in an earlier round but rejected it and wish to try again. Registration is also open to candidates who are applying for state quota seats for the first time.

To be eligible, you must have appeared in NEET UG 2026, qualified with a valid score, and meet Odisha's residency or other eligibility criteria for state quota seats. The notice does not detail eligibility criteria in full; for complete eligibility rules, visit the OJEE website at https://ojee.nic.in or www.odishajee.com.

How to Register for the 3rd Round

Registration for the 3rd round merit list preparation opens on 28 September 2026 at 11:30 AM and closes on 29 September 2026 at 11:59 PM. You have exactly 24 hours and 29 minutes to complete registration. Registration is done online through the OJEE portal.

To register, log in to the OJEE counselling portal using your NEET roll number and password. Fill in all required information, verify your details, and submit your registration. The notice does not specify which documents you must upload at registration; check the OJEE website or the portal itself for the exact document list before you begin.

After registration closes, OJEE will prepare a provisional revised state merit list based on your NEET score and other criteria. This list will be published on 30 September 2026 at 2:00 PM.

  • Registration window: 28 September 11:30 AM to 29 September 11:59 PM
  • Register online via https://ojee.nic.in or www.odishajee.com
  • Use your NEET roll number and password to log in
  • Do not miss the deadline — late registrations are not accepted

Merit List Publication & Query Period

On 30 September 2026 at 2:00 PM, OJEE will publish a provisional revised state merit list. This list shows your rank and eligibility for the 3rd round based on your NEET score and registration details. Check this list carefully to ensure all your information is correct.

If you find any error in the provisional merit list — such as a wrong name, incorrect NEET score, or missing qualification — you can raise a query. The query invitation window opens on 1 October 2026 at 11:30 AM. The notice does not specify how long the query window remains open; check the OJEE website for the exact closing time.

After all queries are resolved, OJEE will publish the final 3rd round state merit list on 1 October 2026 at 5:30 PM. This is the list that will be used to determine your eligibility for choice filling and allotment. Your rank on this final list determines which colleges and courses you can choose.

  • Provisional merit list published: 30 September 2026, 2:00 PM
  • Query window opens: 1 October 2026, 11:30 AM
  • Final merit list published: 1 October 2026, 5:30 PM
  • Check your name, score, and rank carefully on the provisional list

Choice Filling: How to Select Your College & Course

Once the final merit list is published on 1 October 2026 at 5:30 PM, choice filling opens the same day at 7:30 PM. You will have until 4 October 2026 at 11:59 PM to fill and lock your choices. This is a critical step: your choices determine which colleges and courses you are eligible for in the allotment.

During choice filling, you will see a list of available MBBS and BDS seats at Odisha colleges. You rank these seats in order of your preference — for example, MBBS at College A as your first choice, BDS at College B as your second choice, and so on. You can fill as many choices as you wish, but rank them carefully in the order you actually want them.

After you have filled all your choices, you must lock them. Once locked, you cannot change your choices. The system will use your locked choice list to generate your allotment. If you do not lock your choices by 4 October 11:59 PM, your choices will be automatically locked at that time.

  • Choice filling window: 1 October 7:30 PM to 4 October 11:59 PM
  • Rank colleges and courses in order of preference
  • You can fill multiple choices
  • Lock your choices before the deadline — do not leave it to the last minute
  • After locking, you cannot change your choices

Allotment: When You Find Out Your Seat

After choice filling closes, OJEE runs an allotment algorithm to match your choices with available seats based on your merit rank. On 6 October 2026 at 11:30 AM, a provisional allotment will be published. This shows which college and course you have been tentatively allotted, if any.

Check the provisional allotment carefully. If you believe there is an error — for example, you were allotted a course you did not choose, or your rank was calculated incorrectly — you can raise a query. The query window for the provisional allotment opens on 7 October 2026 at 11:30 AM. Again, the notice does not specify the closing time; check the OJEE website.

The final allotment list, incorporating all query resolutions, will be published on 8 September 2026 at 11:30 AM. You will be able to download your allotment letter from the portal. This letter confirms your allotted college, course (MBBS or BDS), and seat category. Keep this letter safe — you will need it when you report for admission.

  • Provisional allotment published: 6 October 2026, 11:30 AM
  • Query window for allotment: 7 October 2026, 11:30 AM onwards
  • Final allotment published: 8 September 2026, 11:30 AM
  • Download your allotment letter from the portal
  • Check your allotted college, course, and seat category

Withdrawal or Resignation: Can You Opt Out?

If you have been allotted a seat in an earlier round and you do not wish to continue in the counselling process, you can withdraw or resign. However, the withdrawal deadline is very early: till 7 September 2026 at 9:00 AM. This date appears to be in the past relative to the notice date (21 September 2026), which suggests this deadline may have already passed or there may be a typographical error in the notice.

If you are unsure whether you can still withdraw, contact OJEE immediately at odishaojee@gmail.com or check the website. Do not assume you can withdraw after this date without confirming with OJEE first.

  • Withdrawal deadline: Till 7 September 2026, 9:00 AM (check if this has passed)
  • Contact OJEE if you are unsure: odishaojee@gmail.com
  • Withdrawing means you exit the counselling process entirely

Admission Reporting: Final Step to Secure Your Seat

After you receive your allotment letter, you must report for provisional admission at the OJEE Cell in Gandamunda between 11 October 2026 and 15 October 2026. Reporting means physically visiting the OJEE office with your original documents, paying the admission fee, and signing a bond. Until you report and pay the fee, your seat is not confirmed.

The notice states that a college-wise reporting schedule with detailed instructions will be published later. This schedule will tell you the exact date and time you must report based on your allotted college. Check the OJEE website regularly after your allotment to find this schedule.

You must bring original documents (the notice does not list which ones; check the OJEE website or your allotment letter for the exact list) and a signed bond. The bond is a legal document confirming you accept the seat and will comply with college rules. Failure to report by 15 October 2026 means you forfeit your seat.

  • Reporting period: 11 October to 15 October 2026
  • Reporting location: OJEE Cell, Gandamunda
  • Bring: original documents, admission fee, and signed bond
  • College-wise reporting schedule will be published separately
  • Missing the reporting deadline forfeits your seat

Admission Fee: What You Must Pay

The notice mentions that you must pay an admission fee when you report, but it does not specify the amount. The fee varies depending on your category (general, OBC, SC, ST) and whether you are a resident of Odisha or from outside. Check the OJEE website or your allotment letter for the exact fee amount applicable to you.

Bring the fee in the form specified by OJEE — this is usually a demand draft, online transfer, or cash, but confirm with OJEE before you report. If you do not pay the fee on time, your admission will not be confirmed.

  • Fee amount depends on your category and residency status
  • Check the OJEE website for the exact fee
  • Bring the fee in the form specified by OJEE
  • Payment is mandatory for admission confirmation

4th Round (Stray Round): What Comes Next

The notice mentions that a 4th round, also called the stray round, will be held after the 3rd round. The stray round is typically used to fill any remaining vacant seats after all earlier rounds. The schedule for the 4th round will be published later by OJEE. If you do not get a seat in the 3rd round, you may be eligible to apply in the stray round, but check the eligibility criteria when the schedule is released.

  • 4th round (stray round) schedule to be published later
  • Used to fill remaining vacant seats
  • Check OJEE website for eligibility and dates when announced

Where to Find More Information & Contact OJEE

For complete details on the registration process, guidelines, and instructions, visit the official OJEE websites: https://ojee.nic.in or www.odishajee.com. These sites will have downloadable prospectuses, FAQs, and step-by-step guides for each round.

If you have questions or encounter technical issues, email OJEE at odishaojee@gmail.com. The notice does not provide a phone number, so email is the primary contact method. Check the website for any updates or clarifications issued after this notice.

  • Official websites: https://ojee.nic.in and www.odishajee.com
  • Email: odishaojee@gmail.com
  • Check the website regularly for updates and college-wise reporting schedule

2 minute · Free preview

Which MBBS colleges can your NEET rank actually get?

See the real colleges your rank can reach — every state and All India Quota — with official closing ranks and the exact fee for each seat.

See My Colleges

Frequently asked questions

When does registration for the 3rd round open and close?

Registration opens on 28 September 2026 at 11:30 AM and closes on 29 September 2026 at 11:59 PM. You have approximately 24.5 hours to register online via the OJEE portal. Missing this deadline means you cannot participate in the 3rd round.

What is the difference between the provisional merit list and the final merit list?

The provisional merit list is published on 30 September 2026 at 2:00 PM and shows your initial rank based on your registration. You can raise queries if there are errors. The final merit list is published on 1 October 2026 at 5:30 PM after all queries are resolved. The final list is used for choice filling and allotment.

When can I fill my choices, and what happens if I do not lock them?

Choice filling opens on 1 October 2026 at 7:30 PM and closes on 4 October 2026 at 11:59 PM. You must rank colleges and courses in order of preference and lock your choices before the deadline. If you do not lock them manually, they will be automatically locked at 11:59 PM on 4 October.

When will I know which college and course I have been allotted?

A provisional allotment will be published on 6 October 2026 at 11:30 AM. You can raise queries on 7 October 2026 if there are errors. The final allotment will be published on 8 September 2026 at 11:30 AM, and you can download your allotment letter from the portal.

What must I do after receiving my allotment letter?

You must report for provisional admission at the OJEE Cell in Gandamunda between 11 October and 15 October 2026. Bring your original documents, pay the admission fee, and sign a bond. A college-wise reporting schedule will be published separately. If you do not report by 15 October, you forfeit your seat.

What is the admission fee, and how do I pay it?

The notice does not specify the exact fee amount; it varies by category and residency status. Check the OJEE website or your allotment letter for the amount. The form of payment (demand draft, online transfer, or cash) will be specified by OJEE — confirm before you report.

Can I withdraw from the counselling process after registering?

The notice states a withdrawal deadline of 7 September 2026 at 9:00 AM, which appears to be in the past. Contact OJEE at odishaojee@gmail.com to confirm whether you can still withdraw and what the current deadline is.

What happens if I miss the choice-filling deadline?

If you do not fill and lock your choices by 4 October 2026 at 11:59 PM, your choices will be automatically locked at that time. You cannot change them after locking, so it is critical to fill them carefully before the deadline.

Is there a 4th round if I do not get a seat in the 3rd round?

Yes, a 4th round (stray round) will be held to fill remaining vacant seats. The schedule will be published later by OJEE. Check the website for eligibility criteria and dates when the schedule is released.

Where can I find the college-wise reporting schedule?

The college-wise reporting schedule with detailed instructions will be published by OJEE after the allotment. Check the OJEE website (https://ojee.nic.in or www.odishajee.com) regularly after your allotment is published. The schedule will tell you the exact date and time you must report based on your allotted college.

What documents do I need to bring when I report for admission?

The notice mentions bringing original documents and a signed bond but does not list which documents are required. Check your allotment letter, the OJEE website, or contact OJEE at odishaojee@gmail.com for the complete list of documents you must bring.

What if I find an error in my provisional allotment?

If you believe there is an error in your provisional allotment (published 6 October at 11:30 AM), you can raise a query on 7 October 2026 at 11:30 AM. The exact closing time for queries is not specified in the notice; check the OJEE website for details. Errors will be corrected in the final allotment published on 8 September at 11:30 AM.

Mark all dates in your calendar immediately. Registration for the 3rd round opens on 28 September 2026 at 11:30 AM — do not miss this deadline. After registration, monitor the OJEE website for the merit list (30 September), final merit list (1 October), and allotment (6 October). Fill your choices carefully between 1–4 October, and report for admission between 11–15 October with your original documents and fee. For any questions, visit https://ojee.nic.in or www.odishajee.com, or email odishaojee@gmail.com.

Odisha NEET UG 2026OJEE counselling3rd round counsellingMBBS BDS state quotacounselling schedulemerit listchoice fillingallotmentadmission datesOdisha medical counsellingNEET UG 2026 Odishastate quota seats
Found this useful? Share it

Plan your admission with free AI tools

Turn your NEET score into a rank, then into the exact colleges you can get.